A Yukon Adventure

It’s been a long time since I was in my hometown of Whitehorse, but I’ve made a trip back for the first time in two years. I will likely blog some of my time here since I do usually like to write while I’m travelling. And this is just that now – no longer necessarily a hometown visit, but more of an actual adventure.

This trip was made even more awesome by the chance to do the drive from Edmonton to Whitehorse (without needing to do the drive back). For anyone who has never visited the Yukon before, I highly recommend driving up. I love seeing the landscape change and become more and more colourful and wild and isolated.

I can’t really put the beauty of this drive into words, so here a few pictures to try to illustrate it for you (though I will tell you that these photos do not even begin to do it justice). These were all taken in the last couple days during my long trek up.

IMG_2530IMG_2743 IMG_2789 IMG_2745 IMG_2746IMG_2757IMG_2750IMG_2760 IMG_2782 IMG_2785

Animal count for yesterday’s drive alone: approx. 80 bison, 6 bears (including two cubs), one eagle swooping down for prey by the side of the road, 1 moose, 1 doe, 2 bunnies, and a baby elk. It was a busy drive!

Love KG

 

 

Leave a Reply

