Go Riders!

Have you ever been to a football game? How about in mid-November? In Canada? Man, was it ever cold.

Last weekend, I went to McMahon Stadium in Calgary for about my third football game ever. It was the first time I had ever been to an actual important game – the Western Canada Final.

20131123-092709.jpg
I can’t really say I’m much of a football buff; I barely understand the rules of the game. I have always known, however, that I am supposed to be a fan of the Saskatchewan Roughriders. You know, like these guys:

20131123-092510.jpg
Or this guy:

20131123-092549.jpg
An intimidating thing to live up to, but this has been drilled in to me by most of my family since birth, so when I knew I was going to see the Western final, I certainly knew who I was cheering for, despite the fact that the game was in Calgary.

20131123-101135.jpg

Anyways, back to the cold. The terrible, lurking, skulking, freezing cold. I headed to the game, bundled up in layers upon layers of clothing underneath my winter jacket. I was told it would be cold, so at least I did come prepared. I mean, I’m from the Yukon. I can handle a little cold. But I’ve never been outside somewhere that cold, just sitting there. I could not believe how quickly it creeped right in and I was chilled.

But there was something about sitting in those seats, bundled up and suffering together with fellow fans in the freezing cold that really makes you feel like you are a part of something. Even someone like me who is barely a football fan can feel totally included just by putting on a Riders jersey. Even better, the Riders came out with the win.

Go Riders!

Love KG

Leave a Reply

