An Adventure in Alberta

A few weeks ago, a friend and I took a short trip out of Edmonton. We left late on a Thursday evening, and were back home by late afternoon on Saturday. This little trip was a lot of fun, and I have to say that I enjoyed being a tourist without going far from home!

We left without much of a plan, except for wanting to hit an AJHL hockey game in Brooks, Alberta on Friday night. The rest of the time, we just went with the flow. At my last job, I spent a bit of time travelling around Alberta, but I never really had much time to do any sightseeing. It was nice to stop and take a picture of whatever struck our fancy along the way, such as this lovely bird that you can find in Hanna – the home of Nickelback… Alberta is so proud.
20130928-235135.jpg

We stopped many places along the way – from Galahad (a medieval -themed village I picked off of the map), to a mining interpretive site (which was literally on the side of a back highway), to Dinosaur Provincial Park (one of the richest areas in the world as far as dinosaur fossils are concerned).
20130929-000052.jpg

We finally made our way to Brooks in time for the hockey game and I have to say I was extremely impressed by the production that this small town put on. The arena was beautiful, and clearly the Brooks Bandits are a first class organization, as far as junior hockey is concerned. This game was the season opener, and they had a few banners to raise so the pre-game show was very cool to see. I wish I could go to games here more often!

20130929-000320.jpg
The next day, before heading back to Edmonton, we stopped at the Royal Tyrrell Museum in Drumheller, which features a collection of more than 130,000 dinosaur fossils and is actually an important location for palaeontological research. This museum was extremely well-done and informative, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone in the area. I thought that one of the coolest things about seeing all the exhibits was that this area of Alberta really is one of the centers of the dinosaur universe, where many important discoveries have been made.

20130929-000945.jpg
After spending a few hours at the museum, it was time to head back to Edmonton. I guess the point of this post is that I wanted to write about how much I enjoyed all of these experiences that were not all that far from home. Having not grown up in Alberta, I haven’t seen many of the things or done many of the activities available here. I always say that I want to travel more, but I also need to keep in mind that there are plenty of exciting and affordable things to experience much closer to home. Whenever I start to really feel the travel bug from now on, I’m going to take a look at the long list of touristy Albertan activities I have not had the chance to do.

20130929-000540.jpg

Love KG

One thought on “An Adventure in Alberta

Leave a Reply

