Find your passion and Crush It!

This morning I finished reading this book:

Crush It

It was an interesting read, making me think about how to create an online presence and ways to capitalize off of it moving forward. Gary Vaynerchuk is just full of ideas for promoting a brand through social media and online marketing, but at the very core of his strategy is the fact that whatever you do, you should be passionate about it.

This leads me to wanting to talk about my passion. I’ve thought for awhile about starting a blog specifically to discuss events and share my event planning experiences and expertise, but I have yet to find the time to pull something like that together, so for now, a snippet here and there on my personal blog will have to do. I’ve made moves this year toward gaining experience in events and learning more about the event industry in general, so I’ll try to share some of that newfound knowledge here.

I knew for years that I enjoyed being involved in planning and volunteering for a variety of different events, but I never really gave a thought to the fact that I could have a career doing something that is just that much fun! I made this realization relatively recently – after an only slightly related university degree, of course – and now I’m constantly looking for ways to learn and develop in this area. I recently started a job as an Event Coordinator with the Alberta Diabetes Foundation, and there are days that I can’t believe I get paid to work in events. There are also other days that are chock full of frustrating emails and phone calls, and last minute crises – and yet, the feeling of seeing an event come together makes it all worth it. Working in events isn’t for everyone, but I’m glad I’ve finally figured out that it is for me.

I have to say, this is all too true.
Event planning in a nutshell.

Basically, the point of this post is that it’s important to figure out what your passion is. In Vaynerchuk’s book, he is adamant about the belief that any passion can be made into a career, and he uses examples from accounting to gardening to business development.  With today’s online world, I think he’s right – you just have to be excited and knowledgeable and willing to put in the work. There is someone out there that wants to hear your expertise. You just need to find them.

Love KG

One thought on “Find your passion and Crush It!

  1. Reblogged this on Kristin Glass Events and commented:

    This is a post I wrote 10 months ago on my personal blog, before I felt I had the time to create something event-focused. I want to share this here because it outlines the entire point of this blog for me: I know what I am passionate about and I am now doing everything I can to pursue that passion.

Leave a Reply

