A Time to Give Thanks

Today I celebrated my very first American Thanksgiving.  I woke this morning to find that Lei and La’a had prepared a breakfast feast for the family.  They had laid all our places and set fruit on the table, as well as some lunch meat (because you need to have some kind of meat at Thanksgiving).  It was adorable.

That evening, the whole family attended a dinner at a neighbour’s house, which much of the neighbourhood was invited to.  It was a lot of fun, even though my timeline feels completely off right now.  I am glad that I was able to stay here in Hawaii long enough to celebrate this holiday, as I was here for the Canadian version and therefore missed out.  Why is it that Canada and the US celebrate Thanksgiving at different times?

We had a delicious dinner with a bunch of amazing people, and rounded out the evening with some musical entertainment.  I was even pursuaded to play my extremely basic version of Wonderwall on the guitar, accompanied by a much more accomplished musician on a baritone ukelele.   Our gathering had a great feeling of companionship, and we all just enjoyed each other’s company.

I am thankful for many things in my life.  I am thankful for my health and my happiness.  I am thankful that I had the means to obtain a university degree, and to better myself along the way.  I am thankful for my family and friends – all the amazing people in my life make it special.  I am thankful that I was able to come and spend this time in Hawaii, and to get to know my young cousins and my Hawaiian family.  I am thankful to have so many places that my life exists in – I always felt that was difficult, but now I realize that it just means I have more than one place that I call home, and isn’t that special?

Happy Thanksgiving!

Love KG

2 thoughts on “A Time to Give Thanks

  1. kpadget

    Justien and I have actually looked this up! While American Thanksgiving is in remembrance of the pilgrims and their “First Thanksgiving” that they had with the natives after landing on Plymoth Rock, Canadian Thanksgiving is giving thanks for a good harvest…and due to our northern location our harvest is early.

    1. kglass14

      I’m glad you were able to clarify this for me. I debated doing the research, but didn’t quite get around to it. The other day I was helping Lei with her grade 1 homework about Thanksgiving… which was difficult given my lack of knowledge about American History. It was funny.

Leave a Reply

