Fast Cars and Freedom

Sunday was a relatively uneventful day… I hung out at home, watched the kids, and laid low. I did get one bit of good news. Remember that girl, Kate, that I had golfed with a few weeks ago? Well, she was heading to Canada for a week or so and had offered to lend me her car! She was leaving the next day.

On Monday morning, I woke up early to drive Stacy to work so I could have her car for the day. I had a guitar lesson later that morning – which was again awesome – and then I decided to spend the afternoon at the Queen’s Shops. I did a little bit of shopping, but spent the bulk of my timing loitering at Starbucks with my laptop and catching up on life. I finally booked my flight back to Canada, which felt extremely productive. I’ll be heading to Kelowna on December 4th, and on to Edmonton on December 9th. I’m not looking forward to the adjustment from beautiful Hawaii to snowy snowy Edmonton… but it will definitely be nice to be back.

At the end of the day, I went to pick Stacy up from work and we went to pick up Kate’s car from her house. The car is a standard, which I was totally excited about, and her name is Sitka (because every good car needs to have a name). During the drive from Kate’s place back to Waikoloa, I was just so happy to be driving a standard again – I don’t think I had really realized how much I missed it. Basically, for the next week, I am not entirely stranded in Waikoloa, which I am stoked about.

On Tuesday I used my newfound freedom to head to the Queen’s Shops again to again loiter at Starbucks and be productive. After I had caught up on enough, I decided to head to the beach. I made my way over to 69 again and spent the afternoon laying on the beach, reading my book, and snorkeling.  Wednesday was overall a mellow day, but I planned some great adventures for Thursday.

I’ll have to leave off here and write about my day in Kona all in one post later this afternoon or evening…

Love KG

PS.  I took this picture the other week on the way up to Waikoloa.  It makes me happy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Fast Cars and Freedom

  1. kpadget

    I was loitering at Starbucks today too…it’s nice to see our habits don’t change no matter where we are in the world…can’t wait till can loiter together, even if it does mean both our adventures are over.

Leave a Reply

