If a peacock were to look at his feet, it would stop him strutting

I spent Saturday in Kona with a friend I had met in Waikoloa the day before.  We wandered a bit along Ali’i Drive, which I want to explore in detail someday soon, and went to Hulihe’e Palace.  This palace is now a museum that houses a collection of Hawaiian artifiacts and personal effects belonging to Hawaiian royalty from the 19th century.  The building itself was built in 1838.  In 1925 it was bought by the territory of Hawaii and leased to the Daughters of Hawaii to be operated as a museum.  I enjoyed wandering around the building and seeing all the beautiful old handmade items.  These items included furniture and clothing, as well as many tools and dishes.  The grounds that this house was on were also beautiful, with green grass and palm trees adorning the whole area.

Sunday was spent with Stacy, Sean and the kids at the Waimea Pumpkin Patch.  We picked out a few pumpkins, and the kids played some games.  I enjoyed some live local music in one of the tents.  This was a very well-done community event – it had tons of activities for kids to have a blast doing.

That night, Stacy had her Bunco night, and she was able to bring me along.  We had to dress up in Halloween costumes, so I taped myself into a paper bag dress, made a crown out of tinfoil, and called myself the Paper Bag Princess.

Me as the Paper Bag Princess

This group meets regularly to play Bunco, a dice game that encourages mixing and mingling and chatting.  The ladies were a bunch of fun, and the game was easy (contrary to my first impressions of it).  We were home early as Stacy had to work in the morning.

Monday passed uneventfully, and Tuesday came quickly.  Tuesday was an exciting day for me because I was to have my very first guitar lesson!  I had contacted a guy that teaches one of Leilani’s friends, and set up a meeting.  I can’t think of a better way to start the day than to go learn to play guitar in a gazebo in the park!

My first lesson was awesome.  My instructor, Jason, was great.  He didn’t even laugh at me when I showed him the pitiful guitar knowledge I already had.  He taught me several chords and one scale, and asked me to come up with a list of songs that I’d like to learn to play.  I’m definitely looking forward to my next lesson.

That afternoon, as I had Stacy’s car for the day, I decided to venture up to Hawi, a cute little town on the northern end of the island that has a bunch of small boutique shops.  I wandered around and shopped, and then got probably the best ice cream I have ever had.  It was toasted coconut flavoured and ridiculously delicious.  I am salivating even thinking of it right now.  A return to Hawi is definitely in order one day, if only to have that ice cream again.

On Wednesday, Stacy had set me up to golf with a girl she knows from work.  Kate is a Canadian who just took up golf recently.  We went and played at Makalei Golf Club and were privy to the strangest weather I have ever seen.  First we got absolutely poured on.  Like buckets of water.  It was like we were walking under a waterfall wherever we went.  After a few holes like that, we were sufficiently soaked and the rain stopped.  At the point, fog began to roll in… to the point that we couldn’t see more than 20 feet ahead of us.  At one point we would see the pin and line up our shot, and by the time I looked up again, the pin was gone.  I hit the ball, and then had to wander around the green until I figured out where it was.  Luckily, this didn’t last for too long, but it was definitely strange.

Makalei was a beautiful course.  There were birds of all types wandering the course freely, but especially peacocks.  They would come right up to our cart – I think they were looking for food.  We didn’t get all 18 holes in before dark as we had started a little late, but we got to see enough of the course and had both taken a sufficient number of swings by the time it was time to quit (this is my way of saying that neither of us played too well…).  Kate gave me a ride back to Waikoloa and we have plans to golf again sometime.

This guy came right up to us to ask for food!
Peacocks roamed freely around the course

Anyways, that’s all for now…

My favourite thing about these several days was definitely the coconut ice cream in Hawi.  I cannot wait to go back to have it again…

Love KG

3 thoughts on “If a peacock were to look at his feet, it would stop him strutting

    1. kglass14

      Haha… I think the lighting makes me look darker than I actually am there… but I’m definitely not looking white as a ghost anymore!

Leave a Reply

