Aloha from Hawaii!

I’ve finally made it… I can’t believe this has come so quickly.

I’ve been here for almost a week now, and I’ve (obviously) fallen behind in chronicling my adventures.  I’m going to do my best to still write about everything I’ve done in the past week – today is most definitely a catch-up day.

I arrived at the Kailua-Kona airport at 2 PM.  Stacy was there with my little cousins Leilani (6) and La’akea (4).  The kids had Hawaiian leis to toss around my neck as I walked out of the gates.  It was nice to have the stereotypical Hawaiian greeting.

The remainder of my real flower leis…

Once I had my bags, we made a stop to pick up a few things in Kona, and then made our way out to their house in Waikoloa, where I will be staying for the next couple months.

I have my own room, though that means that La’a is kicked out of his. Luckily, he doesn’t seem to mind too much, and Stacy says that he doesn’t sleep there often anyways.  The house is nice and cozy and has a beautiful view of the ocean.  Stacy and I spent the evening drinking wine in what has become my favourite morning coffee spot.

The view from my favourite spot to sip my morning coffee.

There are some baby bunnies in the yard to play with as well… Stacy and Sean had a bit of a surprise when one of their two grown rabbits ended up with baby bunnies.  It has been a bit of an ordeal, but long story short, the bunnies are being kept until they are old enough, and then we will try to find some good homes for them.  Right now, they are four weeks old and absolutely ADORABLE.

The white rabbit, Flower, is the Momma rabbit. Smoky is the Daddy.
Awww… one of the babies.  Look how little he is.  And how adorable.

The next day dawned, and I woke up in Hawaii.  I know this seems like it would be the obvious thing to happen, but it was just so surreal to actually be here.   And the view from my bedroom made it very obvious that I was in Hawaii.  I spent the morning lounging outside with a cup of coffee and the company of a few bunnies, my aunt, and my cousins.  Stacy is still on vacation for a couple days, so she has the freedom to hang out with me (and the kids, of course) for the next little bit.  Sean was also off work today, so we all decided to head to the beach for the afternoon.

Stacy wants me to be comfortable driving in the area, so I got to get behind the wheel for the trip to the beach.  We were heading to Hapuna Beach, which is absolutely gorgeous.

Hapuna Beach
Our nice little set-up on the beach.
Happy Girl

I boogie boarded, swam, sat on the beach, and walked to take a look at the hotel down the way.  The kids played in the water and the sand, while Sean spent some time fishing.  I only got creamed by a couple waves, and I rode a couple, so I think it was pretty good overall.  I had forgotten how powerful the ocean can be.  It was a beautiful afternoon in paradise.

For those of you that don’t know, the Big Island is very different from many of the other Hawaiian islands.  Beaches are few and far between, but the island is home to 10 of the 15 types of climate in the world.  Amazing, in such a small area.  I’ll write an article with more information about this and the Big Island in general one of these days.

I’ll sign off here for now, and continue the update later this afternoon…

My favourite thing about my first few days in Hawaii was spending time at such a fabulous beach.

Love KG

2 thoughts on “Aloha from Hawaii!

Leave a Reply

