California Dreamin’

I’ve spent the past few days enjoying what life in Kelowna has to offer.  From backyard strawberries and tomatoes to September sunshine, I’ve definitely been taking it all in. 

I did rollerblade to Lululemon and back the other day… I may have overestimated my rollerblading abilities on that one.  By the time I was halfway back, I was doing whatever the rollerblading equivalent of “limping” is.  I did make it though, and I met a nice girl at Lulu that used to work at Lululemon Whyte Ave with my good friend Jocey (who can be found at www.cookingbymyownrules.wordpress.com). 

Anyways, on to other things.  I am leaving tomorrow to head to California.  I am quite excited and not at all prepared.  Packing is overrated.  I did, however, make a California playlist on my iPod to listen to while I pack – baby steps here, people.  I made this list primarily from songs I already had on my iPod, with a few extra downloads.  My playlist is as follows:

1)  Heels Over Head – Boys Like Girls
2)  Folsom Prison Blues – Johnny Cash
3)  California Justice – Five for Fighting
4)  Welcome to the Jungle – Guns N’Roses
5)  California – Rogue Wave
6)  Hollywood Hills – The Academy Is…
7)  Santa Monica – Savage Garden
8)  California Sun – The Ramones
9)  The Last Resort – The Eagles
10)  Beverly Hills – Weezer
11)  California Waiting – Kings of Leon
12)  End of a Hollywood Bedtime Story – The Dears
13)  Big Sur – The Thrills
14)  California – The Kooks
15)  Hotel California – The Eagles
16)  California Girls – The Beach Boys
17)  California – Phantom Planet
18)  Santa Monica – Theory of a Deadman
19)  Hollywood – Jonas Brothers
20)  City of Angels – Red Hot Chili Peppers
21)  When the Lights Go Down in the City – Journey
22)  Orange Sky – Alexi Murdoch
23)  Disneyland – Five for Fighting
24)  California Girls – Katy Perry
25)  West Coast Friendship – Owl City
26)  Free Falling – Tom Petty
27)  California Paradise – The Runaways
28)  Hollywood – Nickelback
29)  West Coast – Coconut Records
30)  Dani California – Red Hot Chili Peppers
31)  Hello Sunshine – Super Furry Animals
32)  Rockstar – Nickelback
33)  Celebrity – Brad Paisley

And lastly… can’t forget this one:

34) Party in the USA – Miley Cyrus

What do you think?  Am I missing any key songs?  I’m sure there are many more out there…

Anyways, time to put on the playlist and get right into packing.  I’ll keep you all updated from Cali as much as I can. 

CALIIIFOOORNNIIIAAAA….. HEEERREEE WEEE COOOOOMMMEEE!!!!

Peace out, Canada. 

-KG

7 thoughts on “California Dreamin’

  1. Not Nickelback! Gah KG you are so much better than that! Haha. Here are some other suggestions I have for you:

    California Bound by Carolina Liar
    California English by Vampire Weekend
    California Love by 2Pac

    Have a great trip to Cali! Forgive me if you’ve mentioned this elsewhere, but what route are you taking?

    1. kglass14

      haha the Nickelback was mostly for my mom. She’s a fan so it was a little unavoidable. Thanks for the suggestions… I’ll have to check them out.

      I’m flying down to San Francisco with my mom. We are going to spend some time in LA as well, and we are doing the drive along the coast between LA and San Fran, which I am actually pretty stoked about checking out.

Leave a Reply

