GO CAPS GO!

I left you all a week ago, after a night spent rollerblading around the campus area of Edmonton.  Since then, I have had a few more Edmontonian adventures, as well as done the drive over to Kelowna to stay for about a week.  The exciting part of the next few months is fast approaching – I leave for California on September 22nd.

Anyways, back to what the past week has held.  Last Friday evening was spent at Julio’s on Whyte Ave with some girlfriends – four of us have traditional Julio’s nights that we try to do a few times every year, and it is always a blast.  This was definitely no exception, but there was a noticeable lack of sombreros, a staple for our Julio’s nights.  As it happens, Laura, the girl who locked me out of her place the night before, was one of the girls I was spending the evening with.  She took all the teasing in stride as she usually does.  As she pointed out, the fact that she’s a bad friend makes us all look awesome in comparison.  Well said, Laura. 

 At some point during that night, we ran into this guy:

He claimed to be in the Guiness Book of World Records for doing push-ups.  Then he went down and did five rapid push-ups, after which he hopped up and held up his hat for tips.  Is that seriously what busking is coming to?  Doing five push-ups, then asking for money?  I mean, I guess Laura and I did once run into a guy doing backflips for a dollar on Whyte Ave… but at least that was a backflip!

The view from our seats at Telus Field

The next day I attended my first ever Edmonton Capitals baseball game.  A group of us all decided that we could have a lot of fun at a ball game (and ohh b oy, we were right!).  For those of you that don’t know, the Caps were in a best-of-7 series to be the North American League Champions (which they actually did win the other night!).  The game we were at was game 3, so not super important in the scheme of the series but still a blast and a half.  As we were driving to the game, one of the girls was telling me that she had always wanted to go to a Caps game.  In the middle of this, Dustin burst in to say “I never did!”.  He had somewhat been dragged along, but little did he know how much fun he could have.

We cheered and jeered.  We had ball park hot dogs and drank beer.  We saw a home run, we almost caught a foul ball.  We saw the Caps make their way to a 3-0 series lead, and Dustin got a vuvuzuela (see below).  All in all, this was one successful baseball game.

 The next few days were just spent relaxing and seeing everyone else that I needed to see before I set off on my adventure.  It was really nice to have this time in Edmonton, but I’m looking forward to everything to come.
 
Wednesday was spent driving from Edmonton to Kelowna.  I had my mom’s GPS and really no idea where I was going, so this was an adventure and a half.  I got to Edson before the GPS stopped telling me to turn around, go back to Edmonton, then go south through Calgary.  I did eventually get this figured out, and I did the lovely drive through Jasper National Park.  I did not see any wildlife except for a single fox, but I was a little bit glad about that as wildlife on the roads stresses me out.  I did make it to Kelowna, and in good time, and have been spending the last few days enjoying all that this city has to offer. 

Mmmm backyard strawberries!
Just one of the many beaches I will see in the next few months.

I spent this morning rollerblading up Lakeshore Road in Kelowna – it was fabulous.  It was two hours before I got back to the house, tired and sunburnt. 

The next few days should be pretty relaxed – just getting ready to venture down to California!  I’ll keep you all updated once I’m down there.

Lots of love!

– KG

 
One thought on “GO CAPS GO!

Leave a Reply

